top of page

Livin’ Life Alive


I promise, I am not an extreme sports nut. Anyone from my younger days would have trouble coming up with memories of dangerous, risky things I ever attempted. I was never an athlete; I was more completive with myself than others.

It all started when I first started traveling. I met a “seasoned” citizen on a tour who was a hoot to listen to regal stories of her life experiences. She said that she had promised herself that at least once a year she would do something that made her heart pound a bit, it made her feel really alive. She listed all sorts of birthdays celebrated with hot air balloon rides, swimming with dolphins, etc, etc. I LOVED this idea… so I promised myself that at least once a year I would do something that made me live life deep, something that was a thrill, at least on my radar.

So, yes, I’ve parasailed, and rappelled, and swam with sharks. I’ve ridden camels in the desert and jumped out of a perfectly good airplane. (I had promised myself that I would skydive for my 40th birthday. Instead, I got married that year, which is more risky, if you think about it.) With all that being said, you understand why when I had the opportunity to climb the Sydney Harbor Bridge while in Australia, of course, I did. And here’s why you should.

The climb takes almost three hours to complete. Not really, but the preparation process is quite thorough. We were outfitted in grey and blue jumpsuits that blend in with the bridge and sky so not to be a distraction for the hundreds of cars that travel the highway below our climb. Our guide told us a funny story that when the Bridge Climb was working to get all the pieces in place to be able to offer this attraction, they considered ‘attire’ to be one of the easiest checks off the list. They thought cover everything up, tie everything else on, done. Nope… the highway department wanted climbers to blend in, the railroad people (at one point we descended by the railroad tracks that cross the bridge on another level) wanted climbers to stand out, and that debate took longer to get approved than the risks involved. In preparation, we also climbed ladders and stairs with our tether and harness to show we could safely make the needed moves. Three hours, because our excellent climbing guide takes many breaks to tell us the history of the 1932 bridge and fascinating stories about the area. It occurred to me it was also a great way to keep us entertained and from freaking out. It was also a chance to catch your breath while taking in the breath-taking view of Sydney Harbor. There was a picture on the celebrity wall of a 100-year old lady that climbed. That sets the bar a bit high for the rest of us, doesn’t it!

The 134 meter (or 400 foot) above sea level ascent to the summit wasn’t nearly as physical as I expected. Standing, rigging attached to the safety rail of course, 40 stories above the water, cars and trains zipping under us, right in the heart of Sydney Harbor gives an uninterrupted panorama of the city and the iconic Sydney Opera House.

I grinned a little bigger at Margaret and Roy Rice, who had made the climb with me, and felt blessed and alive.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
bottom of page