top of page

My Annual Heart Check


Rode an elephant? Check.

Rappelled down a cliff? Check.

Sky-dived? Check.

Swam with sharks? Yep.

I often tell this story to my traveling friends , but it made such an impression on me, that it is worth repeating every chance I get.

When I first started traveling professionally, I was on a tour with a little live wire of a gal. She captivated us with her tales of “life experiences” that she made happen every year in honor of her birthday. She said that she promised herself, that at least once a year, she would do something that made her feel alive. Something that made her heart pound, that she could remember, “I am alive!” I loved that.

She regaled example after example, “Oh that was the year I took a hot air balloon ride!” “ One year I drove a motorcycle down main street!” On and on of memories that made her smile to remember and made us share in her joy by listening!

I loved it so much, I decided that I was going to do that. And I have. I’m not as organized as she was- remembering what birthday I did what, but at least once a year….I step out there, push myself, do something that others may call nuts, but I enjoy. I feel my heart beat, and my spirit soar and know that yes, I’m alive and blessed.

Like what you ask? I’ve swam with dolphins, sting rays and sharks. (not all at the same time.) I’ve jumped out of a perfectly good airplane …I was saving that for my 4oth Birthday, but instead I got remarried, which is a bigger leap in some ways. This year is my camel year. I took a camel ride across the desert where Moses walked in Jordan. Then I had the opportunity to ride a camel near Ayer’s Rock in the Australian Outback as the sun was coming up. Yes, I have been blessed.

Your next question will be, have I bungee jumped? Not yet, but I did walk around the top of the tallest bungee tower in Macaeu, tethered in a harness while my niece jumped. That resulted in a pounding heart for both of us!

I tell this story on myself as a reminder to everyone. Don’t wait. If you can promise yourself that next year you will be healthier, wealthier, more able to do whatever is on your Bucket List, well then, WAIT! But if you cannot guarantee yourself that, Don’t wait. Do it now.

There was another candle on my birthday cake this week. Another chance to remember a lot of fun, crazy, exciting and personal moments that made me know I was alive. I’m glad I didn’t wait, and I’m glad my little mentor on the bus those years ago didn’t either. There’s no promise of next year’s cake, I’ll take my ‘presents’ in the moment.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
bottom of page